Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today I will answer a pressing question. A question which has been driving each and every one of you to the brink of madness these many years. Today I come to tell you, people of Washington, Oregon, Northern Idaho, BC, and  Alberta, which imaginary renaissance kingdom you live in. (You’re welcome)Image

I just got back from the Sir Edwards Memorial Tournament. For those of you not “in the know” that is the SCA event closest to my house. This year I did well in many contests but was a little disappointed that the hall was under renovation because it meant there was no feast. I usually use my cooking skills and volunteer spirit to secure both dinner and lunch on the second day of the tournament by helping to prepare the feast. This year I had no such luck. Luckily, I am Arynn McKenzie.

On my way back to the bardic events I stumbled upon a yurt. I have a strange fascination with yurts so I leaned down and asked if I could come in and have a look. The flap gave me a hearty, “yes”. It was amazing inside. The floor was thick with rugs. The walls were lined with decorative hangings. In the center was a raised fire-place and, to top it all off, it was dinner time. The residents of the yurt invited me to join them. Dinner was an array of fondue, dolma, fruit, nuts, and sliced vegetables. Joy.

After my very satisfying meal I strolled back to the tablero tables full of new-found vigor and resolve. I came in second but only by three points, which got me thinking. If I had feasted would I have been able to get the four points needed to push into first? I think yes; partly to protect my pride and partly because I actually think I would have.

So I came up with the perfect stew. You can make it over a camp fire and everyone can have some. It is vegan, gluten-free, and true to the time period with the exception of one ingredient. I would pull that one but that’s how it gets all its B vitamins and it’s cheesy creaminess.

Tablero Stew


3 Tb. olive oil
5 cloves garlic
2 onions
4 carrots
4 stalks celery
2 lbs. new potatoes (with skins, a pox upon your house if you skin potatoes)
1 cabbage
2 cups peas, shelled
2 tb rosemary
2 tb salt
5 cups vegetable stock
1 cup nutritional yeast
water

1. Saute onions and garlic in oil until they look delicious
2.  Chop everything up and throw it into the pot. Rough chop the potatoes, leaving the small ones whole
3.  Add stock and then water until you get a stew like consistency
4. Bring to a boil, turn down to a simmer, add yeast
5. Simmer until it smells really good. Serve.

