The other day I was cleaning out my fridge and it occurred to me that I had 1) three stalks of rhubarb and a butter nut squash were on their way out and 2) a potluck to go to in four hours.

I needed a big crowd pleasing recipe, that was easy to transport, and involved these ingredients. So I crossed my fingers, grated the veggies, and hoped for the best. The baking gods decided to smile upon my efforts and thus was Spiced Rhubarb Squash Cake born. I shoved those suckers in a cake box I made on the fly and headed out.

Ingredients:

1/2 c. Canola Oil
1/2 c. Margarine
1 c. soy milk
4 eggs
4 c. flour
2 1/2 c. sugar
2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. soda
2 tbsp. cinnamon
1/2 tbsp. allspice
1 1/2 tbsp. cloves
3 stalks finely chopped raw rhubarb
2 c. grated squash (a small squash)

1. Grate the vegetables
2. Add other ingredients and mix
3. Pour into TWO (2) Muffin pans. Bake at 350 for 25-30 min

Cool the cup cakes and for extra measure pile them into a recycled cake box.
___________________________________________________________________
Up-cycled Cake Box
You need:
– Any discarded cardboard box from
your recycling. I used an old Franzia box.
– An Exacto knife
1. Lay the box on its largest side
2. Cut open the top along the side edges
3. Leave the back side uncut
4. Cut slightly below the front edge of the box to make a tab
5. Fold the cardboard back along the intact end
6. Fill with cupcakes.
7. Close with a small piece of scotch tape.
The wine box was a nice touch but, I got a few stares walking down the road with a box of wine held like a tray. 🙂
