Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have recently been on an expedition to my favorite grocery store in Seattle, the Hau Hau market. If you ever decide that you are tired of paying too much for produce, or maybe that you are just tired of eating vegetables you understand, the Hau Hau is for you. They have a WIDE selection and great prices.

Image

After I returned home from my pilgrimage I had enough produce to open my own small produce stand but instead I decided to make a pie. It turned out so well I must give you the recipe and hope you will forgive that there are not pictures (yet). I made two, one for the freezer and one for right then but there was nothing left to photograph once everyone had eaten. You’ll just have to trust me it is amazing and I promise to put up pics when I cook the second one.

Ingredients

  • Two pie crusts (I used frozen, but if you do not want to do that here is a good recipe)
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 2 cups mushrooms (whatever kind you like)
  • 5 cloves garlic
  • 3/4 cup shallots
  • 1 white onion
  • 4 cups collard greens
  • 4 cups mustard greens
  • 1/2 cup cilantro
  • 2 tbsp fresh dill (if you use dry use more)
  • 1 cube vegetable bullion
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tbsp oregano
  • 1/4 cup vegan butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Cut your greens starting from the bottom to make sure you get a lot of stem. Take the chopped greens and place them in a medium sauce pan with 2 cups of water and the bullion cube to wilt. Cover and steam at medium / low.
  3. Chop other vegetables place in a bowl with spices. Mix.
  4. Once the greens are wilted pour them and the broth into the spice and vegetable mixture. Toss.
  5. Fill pie crusts. Add Dollops of butter to the tops of the pies to melt over the vegetables.
  6. Put one pie into the oven and the other in the freezer for later. Bake the oven pie until the crust is golden brown. Serve.
